Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT vs. SLP pay in the schools
Issues > Message Board > Speech-LanguagePathologist.org SLP Issues
In my district, the OTs make more than the SLPs. SLPs are on the same payscale as teachers, but OTs have a separate pay scale. Anybody else in the same situation? I don't think this is fair. I don't know if this is true, but don't they only have to have a bachelor's? Even still, their starting salary for just a bachelor's degree is much higher! I don't get it!
same here. the OT in our school doesn't even have a bachelors. she has an associate. she is working toward completing her bachelors though. ridiculous she makes more than i do and i have a masters. and since she only has her associates she doesn't have to do evals and IEPs, her OT consultant does that. all she does is therapy and report on progress. seems like i chose the wrong field...
OTRs almost all have masters now. The new programs, like ours, require it. Some older OTs will have BA or BS, but theyr'e all experienced. An associates means she is a COTA - a certoified occupational therapy assistant - and she shouldn't be making more than you. However, OTs mke more than us in the private world, so they are hard to get in the schools. Also, there are usually very few OTs in a district. This allows for a little more bargaining (like LSSP - school psychs).

PTs make even more in the schools, and their degree requirements have increased, too.
In my local district, OTs, PTs, SLPs, and audiologists get the same pay. Most OTs and PTs working in our schools only have a bachelors. However, diagnosticians with an MA make more than SLPs. Also teachers make a comparable salary with an MA. I don't think that this is wrong, however, I am not surprised that our local schools are always suffering from a shortage of SLPs.
Cristina
Well I think ASHA should do something about it. We are not teachers we are SLPs. We should be more respected and better paid.